Kenya U23 head coach Stanley Okumbi named his squad that will take part in the 2021 CECAFA Senior Championships.


Of the team, Kariobangi Sharks and AFC Leopards had the highest number of players with four each as clubs in the National Super League also produced names in the team.


Also Read: KWPL Playoff: Gaspo, Nakuru Queens advance to semifinals


Sharks have keeper Brian Bwire, Boniface Mwangemi, Fredrick Alushula, and striker Sydney Lokale with Leopards giving defender Yusuf Mainge, Collins Shichenje, Marvin Nabwire, and Peter Thiong’o.


National Super League sides Nairobi Stima, Mwatate United, Bungoma Superstars, Kisumu All Stars all contributed one player each.


The team hit camp on Sunday, June 19, 2021, in Nairobi in preparation for the tourney, to be played in Ethiopia’s Nothern City of Bahir Dar between July 3, and July 18, 2021.


Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Caleb Otieno (Gor Mahia), Dolph Junior Owino (Nairobi Stima)


Jimmy Ndungi (Tusker), Portipher Odhiambo (Vihiga Bullets), Silvester Owino (Kakamega Homeboyz), Moses Mudavadi (Nzoia), Collins Shichenje (AFC Leopards), Boniface Mwangemi (Kariobangi Sharks), Yussuf Mainge (AFC Leopards), Fredrick Alushula (Kariobangi Sharks), Brian Wepo (KCB)


Joshua Nyatini (Posta Rangers), Marvin Nabwire (AFC Leopards), Sven Yidah (Nairobi City Stars), Vincent Wasambo (KCB), Faraj Ominde (Tusker), Reagan Otieno (KCB), Oliver Maloba (Nairobi City Stars), Peter Thiong’o (AFC Leopards), Francis Mwangi (Mwatate United), Ambrose Sifuna (Sofapaka), Josephat Lopaga (Posta Rangers), Steiner Musasia (Posta Rangers), John Njuguna (Ulinzi Stars), Dennis Musamali (Nzoia Sugar), Elisha Wekesa (Nzoia Sugar)


Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia), Henry Meja (Tusker), Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Ken Wanyonyi (Bungoma Superstars), Alfred Tanui (Kisumu All-Stars)


Also Read: Homeboyz winger named May’s best


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here