Kenya has been selected to host the first-ever CAF Women’s Champions League qualifiers for the CECAFA region.


The competition will be between June and August when most of the Women’s leagues in the region are complete as the competition will attract league winners from East African countries with the winners automatically booking a place to the continental showpiece.


Also Read: The reason, why Ayub Timbe is yet to make his Kobe debut


Apart from the club competition, CECAFA confirmed that The Ethiopia Football Federation (EFF) has accepted to host the 2021 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup. The decision was made during a meeting held at the Sofitel Hotel in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday after a meeting of the member of the association.


“We deliberated well and members decided we have five tournaments taking place through the year,” CECAFA Executive Director Auka Gaceho said.


Djibouti will host the CECAFA Senior Women’s Challenge and Tanzania will stage the CECAFA Kagame Club Championship with Uganda hosting the U-20 Women’s Challenge Cup.


It was also confirmed that Somalia will not participate in the Women’s Champions League qualifier, while all other member Associations other than Rwanda and Eritrea confirmed their participation


Hosts for 2021 tournaments

  • CECAFA U- 20 women’s Challenge Cup – Uganda
  • CECAFA Senior Women’s Challenge – Djibouti
  • CECAFA Kagame Club Championship – Tanzania CECAFA
  • CECAFA Men’s Challenge Cup –Ethiopia
  • CECAFA/CAF Women’s Champions League Zonal Competition – Kenya


Also Read: Sanjin: Peter Opiyo’s absence a big blow to City Stars


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here