Argentina beat France in post-match penalties to win the World Cup. But while the most coveted prize in world football went to South America, there were some outstanding players and teams in the showpiece hosted in Qatar that earned awards on Sunday.

So who won?

Golden Boot – Kylian Mbappe

The France striker pipped Messi to the top scorer prize during the final. He ended the World Cup with eight goals, with the Argentina captain his closest challenger with seven. Olivier Giroud took the bronze boot after scoring four times in six games.

Golden Ball – Lionel Messi

Messi claimed the Golden Ball for the best player at the World Cup and made history in the process, becoming the first man to win the award twice, having previously done so in 2014. Apart from his seven goals, he contributed three assists. Mbappe took the silver ball, while Croatia playmaker Luka Modric – winner of the Golden Ball in Russia four years ago – was awarded the bronze ball.

Also Read: Gor Mahia v Sharks game rescheduled

Golden Glove – Emiliano Martinez

The Aston Villa man finished the tournament with three clean sheets to his name, the same number as Morocco’s Bono and England’s Jordan Pickford.

Young Player of the Tournament – Enzo Fernandez

Fernandez started the World Cup on the bench, but after a shock defeat to Saudi Arabia he was drafted in by Lionel Scaloni and quickly made an impact.

The Benfica midfielder scored a stunning goal against Mexico in the group stage and played every minute in the knockout stages.

FIFA Fair Play Award – England

Gareth Southgate’s men exited the tournament with the fewest bookings, with Harry Maguire’s yellow against France proving to be their only card of the tournament.

Also Read: Michael Olunga linked with Rangers move

Previous articleMichael Olunga linked with Rangers move
Next articleKWPL: AllStarlets beaten again as Vihiga wins


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here