Harambee Stars captain Victor Wanyama has been nominated for two MLS Awards.


The combative midfielder moved to the MLS in March with Montreal Impact after his stint with Tottenham Hotspur and has gone to feature in all the club games this despite his earlier season in the league being disrupted by the Covid outbreak.


Wanyama will battle it out in the Major Soccer League Newcomer of the Year and Works Humanitarian of the Year category.


Wanyama has played in 20 games for Montreal Impact this season completing 96% of available minutes; his tally of 1710 minutes played is his highest since 2016. The player getting nominated in the Humanitarian category due to his work with communities in the slum areas more so during the covid period where he partnered with Red Cross to help those who were affected by the pandemic.


According to the MLS, the End of Year Awards will be determined through voting between Oct. 29-Nov. 9 from three groups which include Current MLS players, MLS clubs (coaches, technical directors/general Managers) and select media members representing local and national outlets who consistently covered the 2020 MLS regular season.


Also Read: Omala to lead Kenya U20 team in CECAFA


Others who will battle it out with Wanyama in the Newcomer of the Year category are:

Oswaldo Alanís (SJ), Robert Berić (CHI), Antonio Carlos (ORL), Lucas Cavallini (VAN), Maikel Chang (RSL), Yimmi Chara (POR), José Cifuentes (LAFC), Cristian Dájome (VAN), Jürgen Damm (ATL), Nicolás Figal (MIA), Gastón Giménez (CHI), Francisco Ginella (LAFC), Jakob Glesnes (PHI), Emiliano Insúa (LA), Gadi Kinda (SKC), Yuya Kubo (CIN), Randall Leal (NSH), José Martínez (PHI), Lewis Morgan (MIA), Hany Mukhtar (NSH), Younes Namli (COL), João Paulo (SEA), Pablo Piatti (TOR), Alan Pulido (SKC), Emanuel Reynoso (MIN), Andrés Ricaurte (DAL), Thiago Santos (DAL), Jared Stroud (RBNY), Gudmundur Thórarinsson (NYC), Júnior Urso (ORL), Victor Wanyama (MTL), William Yarbrough (COL), Dru Yearwood (RBNY), Lucas Zelarayan (CLB)


MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year

Kellyn Acosta (COL), Tesho Akindele (ORL), Jalil Anibaba (NSH), Julian Araujo (LA), Micheal Azira (CHI), Kyle Beckerman (RSL),  Teal Bunbury (NE), Nkosi Burgess (DAL), Warren Creavalle (PHI), Jeremy Ebobisse (POR), Brad Guzan (ATL), Nick Hagglund (CIN), Mark-Anthony Kaye (LAFC), Kendall McIntosh (RBNY), Tyler Miller (MIN), Justin Morrow (TOR), Chris Odoi-Atsem (DC), Tosaint Ricketts (VAN), Luis Robles (MIA), Cristian Roldan (SEA), Khiry Shelton (SKC), Brad Stuver (NYC), Zarek Valentin (HOU), Victor Wanyama (MTL), Chris Wondolowski (SJ), Gyasi Zardes (CLB)


Also Read: BREAKING: Brian Mandela joins Mamelodi Sundowns


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here