Harambee Stars defender Joash Onyango was included in the 2020-2021 Tanzanian Premier League Team of the Season in the awards held on Thursday night at the Julius Nyerere International Convention Centre (JICC).


In the gala, Stars keeper Faruk Shikhalo who was nominated for the Golden Glove lost out to Simba and Tanzania’s first-choice goalkeeper Aishi Manula.


Also Read: Harambee Starlets humble South Sudan


Kenyan tactician Francis Baraza who was nominated for the Coach of the Year after saving Kagera Sugar from relegation after joining them midway through the season from Biashara United lost the award to Simba’s Didier Gomez.


Full List of Winners
Best Player-John Bocco (Simba SC)
Best Women’s Player-Amina Bilal (Yanga Princess)
Best Player ASFC – Feisal Salum
Best Match Commissioner – Arusha
Best set of officials – Simba vs Mtibwa Sugar(Aragije Manyara,Mkumbo, Said Mtwara, Hellen Dar Es Salaam)
Best assistant referee Serengeti Premier League – Sikudhani Mkurugwa
Best Referee Serengeti Lite Premier league – Amina from Morogoro


Shikhalo during his Yanga days. He lost the Goalkeeper’s awards to Aishi Manula of Simba SC

Best Female Coach – Edna Lema (Yanga Princess)
Best assistant referee VPL – Frank Komba
Best Coach VPL 2020/2021 – Didier Gomes (Simba SC)
Fan of the season-BongoZozo
Best Upcoming Women Player Award – Asha Juma
Best Upcoming Player VPL– Abdul Suleiman SOPU
Best Goal Keeper ASFC– Aishi Manula (Simba SC)
Best Goalkeeper Women’s League– Janeth Shija (Simba Queens)
Best Goalkeeper VPL – Aishi Manula (Simba SC)
Best Defender– Mohammed Hussein Zimbwe Jr (Simba SC)


Simba’s Chama won the Midfielder of the Season Award.

Best Midfielder of the season– Clatous Chama
Fair Play Award – Shomari Kibwana (Yanga)
Best Referee – Ramadhan Kayoko
Goal of the Season– Lambert Sabyanka
TFF President’s Award– Kassim Majalawa PM
Best Ground’s manager– John Nzwara (Nelson Mandela Stadium)
Champions-Simba SC
2nd Winner – Yanga sc
3rd Winner – Azam Fc
Serengeti Light Premium League Champions – Simba Queens
Azam Sports Federation Cup Champions – Simba SC
2nd Winner – Yanga Sc
Legend Award – King Kibaden
Top Scorer Azam Sports Federation Cup – Reliant Lusajo
Top Scorer Serengeti Lite Premier League – Aisha Masaka
Best Scorer Vodacom Premier League – John Bocco
Most disciplined team Serengeti Lite Premier League – Ruvuma Queens
Most disciplined team VPL 2020/2021 – Coastal Union


Also Read: Gor Mahia win the Mashemeji Derby


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here